In 1827 the Great Fire of Turku caused massive destruction, but Luostarinmäki was spared from the flames. Nowadays the old quarter and artisans of Luostarinmäki form a unique atmosphere, where time stands still. The Luostarinmäki Handicrafts Museum is an outdoor museum that offers information, specimens of skill and experiences in an original pre-industrial environment. Visitors will step 200 years back in time at the museum.
The area serves as Turku’s handicrafts history and outdoor museum. Over 30 workshops from different fields of craftmanship display the City’s handicrafts history and craftsmen’s dwellings. Luostarinmäki is unique due to its old buildings and its workshops that have been furnished by handicrafts masters of different fields of craftsmanship. Luostarinmäki is the “Old City” of Turku since it is the only unified part of the City that survived the conflagration of 1827.
During the summer season, the museum’s workshops have craftsmen working there every day. The museum’s shops, postal office and cafeteria serve customers round the year.